Four major, yet important keys to life

Have you ever had a moment of clarity? One evening, I decided to emotionally eat. It is usual for women to over-eat, especially fatty, unhealthy foods before their time of the month. I let my ego get the best of me as I devoured every bite of my pizza and various desserts. As I laid down with an over-full stomach, satisfied, yet sad, I heard my self,“why are you doing this to me?”

 

“Well don’t you like this? Aren’t I making you happy?” I said.

 

No, I’m not. You’re making me sick.” Cue the alarms; I just had my wake up call.

 

The next morning, I listened to an Addicted2Success podcast on my walk to do some errands. I’m a huge fan of this podcast series and it has made a substantial impact in my life. This one in particular features Reverend Michael Bernard Beckwith where he shares tips on how to unleash your inner power.

 

In part of the segment, he mentioned some key points. Fireworks shot off in my head. Perfect timing, I thought, they couldn’t be more true and easier to incorporate into my routine.

 

I find it fascinating that we (including myself) tend to lose sight of what’s truly important in our lives. By practicing these four elements, we will ultimately live better and longer. Also, readers, please feel free to find research that doesn’t say otherwise. The formula is right in front of us; we must search for the tools in order to apply them to balance the equation.

rawfood

Eat well

I cannot stress this enough. I felt like I was at my best (eating wise) when I was following a meal plan that was created by my dear Holistic Nutritionist friend. I become health-conscious a bit more every day, and in turn, I know that I need to cut the CRAP- caffeine, refined sugar, alcohol, processed foods out of my diet.
Easier said than done, right? It takes a lot of will power, but once you’re over that hump, you won’t want to return. There are so many delicious food options available at your finger tips, just remember to make a conscious decision as to what you want to fuel your engine with. What will make you perform better? Vegetables, whole grains, and natural protein (meats or legumes, etc) or candy and soda?

download

Exercise

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), for additional health benefits, adults aged 18-64 should perform at least 300 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic activity per week. To break that down, one hour of activity, five times per week. Examples include: speed walking, jogging; swimming laps, aerobic dancing, biking, jumping rope, etc., anything to get your heart beat up and active, on top of muscle strengthening/conditioning two times per week.

Health issues and obesity are major concerns in our society. Let’s hold everyone accountable for getting up and active every day. It’s only to help yourself and everyone else at the same time.

images

Meditate

Meditation is something that I have recently accepted into my lifestyle. As a bit of an over thinker, meditation removes my fog and puts me into a positive mind space. I find guided meditations are extremely useful at the beginning. It’s useful to have someone teach you the importance of the breath and its techniques to help calm and silence the chatter. Meditation helps reduce pain, anxiety, and addictions, but improves overall well being. It is truly amazing to connect with your inner self; it has been waiting for you.

gratitude

Gratitude

I believe that gratitude is one of the most important factors to success and well-being, by far. Even research has shown that practicing gratitude blocks negative emotions, stress, while developing self-love and appreciation. I keep a gratitude journal and jar. Every morning, I write down three things that I’m grateful for, plus three good things that will happen to me on that day and a daily affirmation. Then I write down one thing I’m grateful for and I place the piece of paper in a jar. At night before I go to bed, I write three awesome things that happened to me and then one thing that would have made the day better. I’m lucky enough that there have been a few times where I say nothing, because my day was already fantastic.

 

 

These four key points are building blocks for a foundation that will allow you to live longer and healthier. Please keep in mind that you (as a soul living in a human body) have a certain amount of years on earth. Why not use and manage your time efficiently to incorporate a routine that allows you to live the best life imaginable? There shouldn’t be any set backs or excuses. You just have to get out there and do it. In order to become the best possible version of yourself, you have to take the necessary steps to get there; you must #DoYourWerk.

Leave a Reply

